Giuseppe Ottaviani - Magenta

Written by Remco on 25 May 2013 in Releases
Giuseppe Ottaviani - Magenta

At the end of the last decade, to the collective delight of his fans and the dance press, former Nu-Nrg-ist Giuseppe Ottaviani released his freshman solo album ‘GO!’ A full four years in the perfecting, Ottaviani’s highly anticipated follow-up is here and primed to colour your mind ‘Magenta’.

Carrying studio team-ups with fellow tranceologists Ferry Corsten and Aly & Fila, and supported by a stellar chorus line of vocalists (Eric Lumiere, Audrey Gallagher, Linnea Schössow, Lo-Fi Sugar and Seri among them), the trance kingpin’s ready to wow again. Prepare to embrace all the shades, degrees, tones and meanings of ‘Magenta’.

Magenta is Harmony… Comprising 15 new tracks from the studio of Italy’s foremost trance composer, his second artist album overtures with ‘Rush’. Imploringly vocalled by Lo-Fi Sugar, its transcendental breakbeat kick emits ‘Magenta’s first hue. With ‘Love Will Bring It All Around’ - the album’s lead single - Giuseppe radiates a more trance-progressive ethic. Locked around thunderous drums, tight, stripped-back percussion loops and mood-fuelling atmospherics, it paves the way for Eric Lumiere’s one-world lyrics. Scooping Armin van Buuren’s Tune of the Week on A State of Trance 608, the single’s also brought plaudits from the dance press. Giving it their June Single of the Month award, MIXMAG called it “sinuous, brooding and appreciably complex”, while DJ Mag said: “Eric Lumiere’s vocal gives this track its light-bulb moment.

On the concept of his sophomore album, Giuseppe says:the colour Magenta represents universal love at its highest level. The album’s concept is exactly that. Music intended to promote the very same essence the colour does.

‘Magenta’ stimulates Spirituality… on ‘Stars’ Giuseppe’s supplies the track with one of his trademark high-octane production engines – one that leaves a floor-impression crater-deep. Swedish starlet Linnea Schössowcounterbalances its ferocity with a sky gazing,spellbinding vocal arc that stretches to the heavens. Deeper into the album Ottaviani demonstrates that vocal lightning can strike twice as he re-teams with two of his ‘GO!’ album alumni. Stephen Pickup’s vocal on ‘Illusion’ fleetingly splices a rock-ish gene into the album. Backed by Giuseppe’s miasma-like harmonics meanwhile, Faith’s entrancing turn on ‘Nothing Wrong’ burns up the room.

Magenta is the colour of the free spirit. It pushes you to take responsibility for creating your own path in life –

Magenta is Non-conformist… without letting the pace drop for a second, in solo mode Giuseppe expands ‘Magenta’ musical remit. On ‘Cold Flame’ he pumps the distortion pedal hard, working in electro-lining sounds and FX. ‘Feel The Music’ meanwhile riffs off the modulating acidic churn of ‘Hardtrance Acperience’, climactically boiling its 303 to mercury-popping levels. Elsewhere ‘Waterpark’ provides one of ‘Magenta’s many ‘come-together’ festival moments.

Magenta conveys Balance… the album’s transcendental heartland lies in its mid-section. Melbourne-based singer-songwriter Alana Aldea runs the tone deep on ‘Heal This Empty Heart’, whilst Audrey Gallagher lends her bewitching, highly recognisable Gaelic inflection to ‘Walk This World With Me’.

Magenta Universal Entering the end-zone ‘Magenta’ lines up its co-pro big guns. Uniting the atomising studio personas of Aly & Fila and Giuseppe Ottaviani, ‘Brilliant People’ uses beatific, ever-shifting female harmonics to dizzying effect. The album’s closeout sees Ferry Corsten & Giuseppe collectively use symphonic strings and crowd-igniting pitch-bends, artfully interplayed with melodic redolence and air-slicing synths to fashion the infectious future anthem ‘Magenta’.     

Giuseppe Ottaviani has delivered the pitch-perfect ‘GO!’ sequel - a consummate long-player whose panoramic studio-ware will draw you in… and keep you there for months. Not simply EDM, but surround-sound, big room-filling3DM, this summer’s colour… is ‘Magenta’.

Giuseppe’s 2nd is out on May 27th.  


1 Giuseppe Ottaviani feat. Lo-Fi Sugar - Rush
2 Giuseppe Ottaviani & Eric Lumiere - Love Will Bring It All Around
3 Giuseppe Ottaviani feat. Linnea Schossow - Stars
4 Giuseppe Ottaviani feat. Stephen Pickup - Illusion
5 Giuseppe Ottaviani - Cold Flame
6 Giuseppe Ottaviani feat. Seri - Gave Me
7 Giuseppe Ottaviani with Audiocells feat. Shannon Hurley - I Am Your Shadow
8 Giuseppe Ottaviani feat. Faith - Nothing Wrong
9 Giuseppe Ottaviani - Feel The Music
10 Giuseppe Ottaviani feat. Alana Aldea - Heal This Empty Heart
11 Giuseppe Ottaviani - Waterpark
12 Giuseppe Ottaviani feat. Vitamin B - Waiting On Someday
13 Giuseppe Ottaviani with Aly & Fila - Brilliant People
14 Giuseppe Ottaviani feat. Audrey Gallagher - Walk This World With Me
15 Giuseppe Ottaviani & Ferry Corsten - Magenta


Other News