Solarstone Presents Electronic Architecture² - TheAmbientEdition

Written by Marjan on 27 July 2011 in Releases
Solarstone Presents Electronic Architecture² - TheAmbientEdition

When he first presented the follow up to Electronic Architecture, Solarstone promised that the Squared edition would be an evolution. The 2XCD main-line album is out now and has again wowed fans and press alike (with Mixmag saying that it was a "perfectly crafted international journey across electronic dance music's sub-genres.")

EA² has also seen Richard commission the world’s first ‘open-source’ album cover, allowing fans to create their own bespoke version of its extraordinary cover image.

Slow-Mo Architecture: With its epic, pacific cool, EA's bloodline has always been as closely aligned to ambient as it has trance or progressive. Now as part of the Solarstone's continuing mission to provide the ultimate panoramic compilation experiencehe's isolated EA's chillout gene and put it under the microscope. ElectronicArchitecture²'s multinational artist contingent have returned to their studios and summoned a quiet storm of sound, one with which Solarstone has created ElectronicArchitecture² - TheAmbientEdition.

EA To The Beach: Mix1 is fully focused on delivering an unbroken 80 minutes of seaside atmospherics and sunspot sounds. The tranquilized, vocoded vocal of Kazusa & Shingo Nakamura's 'Dice' and the spider-ish synth-crawl of Aerium's Icedive start the (beach)ball rolling. Solarstone has transported the now highly recognizable shimmering sound-set of his latest single 'Big Wheel' far beyond the sunset horizon. From there the ocean-deep re-imagining of Janerio and Sovt's 'Dreams of the Sea', Jahawi's equatorially warm 'From Nairobi to London' and the full beat-free immersion of Majera's 'Escapade' compete to out-chill each other.

V Is For Vangelis: The album's discs have two deliberate tonal slants, with the second providing a palpable shift away, towards enigmatic and more elegiac audio. The mystical Eastern tinge of Medway's 'Resurrection' launches the disc and is quickly followed by Piotro's film noir-ish 'Mist' and the long, held, evocative notes of 'Uncontrollable Day'. Further marking the mix's less-chilled, more-filmic lean is the lamenting, semi-dissonant electronica of Daniel Mahaud's 'Winter Solstice', the incredible live percussion of Cassino and Laben's 'Touchstone' remap and Elfsong's ambient re-touch to 'Eta Carinae'. The album culminates with an extraordinarily powerful half-speed retelling of Nick Stoynoff's 'Tokyo Nights' and Alucard's otherworldly (and infinitely Blade Runner-esque) 'Blanket Town'.

With Electronic Architecture² - TheAmbientEdition, Solarstone has delivered the ultimate album expansion pack. EA²'s 2 discs have become 4, creating a truly incredible 360° listening experience.

Disc 1

01. Kazusa & Shingo Nakamura - Dice (Ambient)
02. Aerium - Icedive (Slow)
03. Sergey Bogomolof - Sounds Of My Summer
04. Solarstone - Big Wheel (Ambient Dub)
05. Jahawi - From Nairobi to London (Ambient)
06. Peter Liu - City Of Dreams (New Beginning)
07. Poonyk & Oxide - Weekend (Space Chill Version)
08. Mike Saint-Jules - Vespera (Chilled)
09. Almar - Wasted Time (Ambient)
10. Active Limbic System - Vanity (Chilled)
11. Janeiro & Sovt - Dreams Of The Sea (Chilled)
12. Majera - Escapade (Ambient)
13. Aeron Aether & Embliss - A New Dawn (Ambient)

Disc 2

01. Dj Orion & J. Shore - Architect's Dream (Dub)
02. Medway - Resurrection (Ambient Dub)
03. Piotro - Uncontrollable (Day After Kortowiada Version)
04. Piotro - Mist (Soft)
05. Idle A.M - Walkthrough
06. Daniel Mahuad - Winter Solstice
07. Matvey Emerson - Prizma (Ambient)
08. Solarstone - Touchstone (Cassino & Laben Version)
09. Abdomen Burst ft. Yavanndiel - Solar Eclipse (Fantasy Slowstep Edit)
10. Elfsong - Eta Carinae (Ambient)
11. Nick Stoynoff - Tokyo Nights (Tokyo Dawn)
12. Alucard - Blanket Town

Other News