Flamingo Nights 3 - Amsterdam Edition

Written by Marjan on 3 December 2011 in Releases
Flamingo Nights 3 - Amsterdam Edition

Featuring tracks and remixes from some of Europe's finest dance music minds, Holland's kings of the tough beat deliver the 3rd in their Flamingo Nights compilation series. Seizing the mix-controls for session 3 are nu-house heroes Nicky Romero and Deniz Koyu... On November 25th they're going to show you how it goes down in Holland!

In 2009 the Flamingo Records crew compilation captured the White Isle's club-juice in Ibiza and 12 months later set their sights on the Big Apple for a New York chapter. Now, with the city's musical mercury at sky-high levels, they've returned Flamingo Nights to their home streets for the Amsterdam Edition. This year Flamingo honchos Funkerman and Fedde le Grand have ceded the mix controls to label lieutenants Nicky Romero and Deniz Koyu - two of central Europe's fastest on-the-rise spin-masters.

With David Guetta tagging Nicky in his DJ Mag interview as 'the one to watch in 2012' and having Romero remix 'Titanium' from his latest album, the 22-year-old Netherlander's got the endorsement of the world's # 1 DJ ringing in his ears. Not wasting a beat of the mix, he gets straight to the point, letting Stefano Noferini's '(This Is) Fucking House Music' tell it like it is. Snapping at its heels is Fedde Le Grand's recent chart baiting redux of Falcon & Bangalter's 'So Much Love' and DBN's own super-uplifting re-bake of Nicky's own 'Schizophrenic'. He begins to let the mix travel some darker trails, moodying things up with Dirty South & Thomas Gold's 'Alive' and sending it all-out subterranean with his own, just-completed remix-retell of Green Velvet's strobelite anthem 'Flash'. The Dimitri Vegas & Like Mike cover of Âme's house classic 'Rej' guides the mix onto a tougher, more pumping track and lets loose a bass-fuelled, high-grade floor-banger with Gregori Klosmas remix of Avicii's 'Sweet Dreams'. Keeping the floor tension locked, Nicky brings his mix to a big apex with the tough timbales and tougher yet synth stabs of 'Camorra', before classily curtain-closing with Matteo Di'Marr's imaginative, guitar-flecked revision of Radiohead's 'Creep'.

Next to the decks is German-born, Breda-based turntable specialist, Deniz Koyu. Since being discovered and mentored by Fedde Le Grand, Deniz has fast become a new sensation on the European circuit - most recently being acclaimed by Axwell as his favourite new guard producer. He gets the mix's engines tuning with his own hyper-hot 'Tung' (Guetta, SHM, Calvin Harris, Tiësto and Schulz all currently hammering) and chases it with 'Grunge' and Arty's tough, house-channelling 'Around The World'. Next to the laser are the creatively programmed beats of Le Grand's 'Mentrum', the angular synths of Wippenberg's infectiously vocalled 'UR' and Koyu's latest - the eclectic, electric, horn-fuelled 'Hertz'. Axwell's deeply strung summer floor thriller 'Heart is King' keeps the mix's orientation deliriously in flux, while Thomas Gold tints its climax with some floor-quenching tech-house, courtesy of his hard-rocking remix of Sander van Doorn's 'Reach Out'.

Released on November 25th, Flamingo Nights Vol. 3 - Mixed By Nicky Romero and Deniz Koyu will see the club side of your brain happy right through the end-of-year party season... and beyond!


CD 01 – mixed by Nicky Romero

01. Stefano Noferini - Fucking House Muzik:
02. Nilson – Emissions
03. Fedde le Grand - So Much Love
04. Nicky Romero & Mitch Crown - Skitzophrenic (DBN Remix)
05. Jerome Isma-Ae & Daniel Portman feat. Max'C - Flashing Lights (Nicky Romero & Nilson Remix):
06. Fedde le Grand - Metrum (Manuel de la Mare Remix)
07. Dirty South & Thomas Gold featuring Kate Elsworth – Alive
08. Funkin Matt - Toasty Nutty Bass
09. Green Velvet - Flash (Nicky Romero Remix)
10. Dimitri Vegas & Like Mike – REJ
11. Avicii - Sweet Dreams (Gregori Klosman Remix)
12. Hardwell & Nicky Romero - Beta
13. Vida - Galaxy
14. Nicky Romero – Camorra
15. Matteo Di'Marr – Creep

CD 02 – mixed by Deniz Koyu

01. Deniz Koyu - Tung!
02. Deniz Koyu – Grunge
03. Arty - Around the World
04. TV ROCK & Hook N Sling feat. Rudy - Diamonds In The Sky
05. Gregori Klosman & Promise Land - Endless
06. Fedde le Grand - Metrum
07. Wippenberg - U R
08. Brainless – Bots
09. Deniz Koyu - Hertz
10. Ferry Corsten - Punk (Arty Rock-N-Rolla Mix)
11. Axwell - Heart Is King
12. Deniz Koyu – Hydra
13. Sander Van Doorn - Reach Out (Thomas Gold Remix)
14. Fedde le Grand & Patric la Funk – Autosave
15. Goldfish - Soundtracks & Comebacks (Fedde le Grand Remix)

Other News